52 Churches 52 Weeks

Worship Exploration Journey

Week 43 Self-Realization Fellowship – Kriya Yoga Temple

Leave a comment

With talk of Swamis, Krishna, Monks, silent meditation, fragrant incense and many OOOOMMMMMs later I was not exactly sure what I had chosen to participate in this past Sunday. Nevertheless, it was interesting. This Fellowship center is located on Central Avenue just north of Bethany Home and is surrounded by green trees and the old Bridal Path.

Etiquette rule number one: if you will be participating in silent meditation make sure you eat breakfast before hand. My stomach was so loud that at one point I actually giggled. This definitely did not help me find my third eye and may have prevented my seat mate from also finding true enlightenment.

SRF has a distinct Indian style although there were very few Indians there. At the altar were portraits of the 5 Krishnas and Jesus Christ. I was surprised by the recognition of Jesus but later learned that SRF regards him as an Eastern Mystic. The leader gave several bible examples of Jesus practicing the art of meditation and healing as handed down from ancient India. Here is an example as interpreted by SRF: Matthew 6:22 “The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light.” (King James Version). As explained to us – this is Jesus utilizing his third eye to fill himself with light. It’s fascinating how people can look at the same things and see different things. I would have never guessed that. And then it makes me wonder – where was Jesus from the time he was 12 until he was about 30 years old. I have heard that he may have traveled through Asia. Perhaps he also trekked through India? The plot thickens.

The group leader taught us how to naturally find our third eye. In the spirit of Easter we were to go to our third-eye and look for Jesus there. With all the silence, stomach hunger and inexperience I must admit that I was unable to see him. I will try again another time. The concept sounds very interesting and apparently takes some people longer than others to develop. When you feel the pull of a magnet like presence on your forehead I think you are close! I had always wondered if meditation is the same as prayer? After this experience I kind of think not.

Self Realization Fellowship was started by Paramahansa Yogananda who is widely respected as the father of yoga in the west. Kriya Yoga is a sacred spiritual science originating thousands of years ago in India. SRF has many reading materials that you can pick up along the service to help you understand. Their website is very detailed. I would go again just to learn something new and see if I could get my third eye to open. I do kind of wonder what is just beyond this dimension that I cannot see with my two physical eyes. And one last thing! Skip the kids and bring your mom instead.

http://www.phoenixtemple.org/

Leave a comment