Week 15 – Adoration Chapel of the Most Blessed Sacrament – Catholic

This weekend just didn’t seem to cooperate with scheduling and family activities and actually making it to a service of any kind. I did have time to take in a movie with the girls – “I Don’t Know How She Does It” with Sarah Jessica Parker as the working mom with lists, children, career, family and juggling. I had read the book 8 or 9 years ago and knew I had to see this movie. I have told my boss in the past that I will never be a perfect employee, wife or mother. I just do my best to keep it all moving forward so that most of the people in my life are mostly satisfied most of the time.

The Adoration Chapel is a beautiful garden and prayer room dedicated to Jesus. It is located at Corpus Christi Church in Ahwatukee and is an amazing place to reflect on Jesus. There is a statue of the Virgin Mary holding a baby Jesus. I wonder at how Mary must have suffered as a mother watching her beautiful child be crucified on the cross. I know I cringe at the slightest bump and cry myself to sleep over broken bones, chicken pox and toddler stitches. Watching our children suffer is so painful. I found myself wanting to know about her while I prayed in this quiet place.

The Chapel is manned around the clock with the faithful devoting themselves to never leaving the Blessed Sacrament alone. They commit to shifts, sign in and genuflect at the door on their knees as the enter and as they leave. It is so humbling to see. They bow their heads in reverence. It is a silent chapel with rosaries to borrow, holy water and reading materials. The garden is serene and beautiful, water ponds trickling in the background.

I spent time here this weekend and again today just in awe that such a place exists. Imagine spending an hour or even 15 minutes adoring Jesus. It is peaceful and available to us at all hours and in spite of crazy schedules.

On a side note, one thing I do like about the Catholic Church is that there are so many opportunities to celebrate Mass. Saturday night before you sin, Sunday morning at least 2 or 3 times after you may have sinned and one last chance to repent and get centered Sunday evening before the week begins. Somehow I missed them all this week.

To learn more about Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament I found this link: http://www.saintpetercatholic.com/adoration-of-the-blessed-sacrament.html

To Visit the Garden and Chapel visit: http://www.corpuschristiphx.org/index.php

Enjoy the photos.

Leave a Reply

