52 Churches 52 Weeks

Worship Exploration Journey

Week 31 – Assembly of God/New Life Church – Christian

Leave a comment

After passing through protesters to get to church I wondered if I was in the wrong place. The church was supposed to be an Assembly of God Church but there was no signage to that effect. The pamphlet indicated that I was in the New Life Church. So be it, this is where God brought me today. The first 45 minutes of the services was of the rock ‘n roll variety and as I grew weary of standing I was super preoccupied with the presence of the protestors and their big signs out front proclaiming that we must beware of Idol Worship and False Gods. It was a little intimidating to say the least.

Apparently there is a Fasting Tradition in some Christian Churches for 21 days from January 9th through the 29th. I thought this was fascinating and had never heard of this before. We got an entire packet on our way out on how to pray during the fast and the biblical meaning of fasting. We are to refrain from food for a spiritual purpose and our lives will be changed. We don’t fast out of tradition but out of a thirst for God. During the fast God targets healing in our marriages, with our children, in our finances, within our bodies. We must believe and have faith in God.

The Pastor asked us to be organized in our prayer and not just focus on our needs. He recommends – ACTS – begin your prayer with Adoration, followed by Confession and Thanksgiving and finally Supplication – which means to plead humbly. I had to look that big word up just to be sure!

The Pastor was very kind to Candace and I and welcomed us back. On our way out I just asked him, “what about the guys out front?” and he says to me, “they are not affiliated with the church, I’ve never spoken to them. I think it must be their Sunday hobby and we love them too.” I thought that was a rather cool answer. What a pain for a church to have to deal with that on a regular basis. I don’t know, maybe he should go talk to them? It’s hard enough to get newcomers through the doors without intimidating them.

Link to today’s church – http://app.razorplanet.com/acct/40743-6079/tmpl/

Leave a comment