52 Churches 52 Weeks

Worship Exploration Journey

Week 22 – New Heights Church – Christian

Leave a comment

Today I picked a church from a sandwich board on the side of the road pointing me in the direction of New Heights Church in Chandler off Kyrene and Chandler Blvd. I have always wondered what the sandwich board churches are all about and now I have been to one! You probably see many sandwich boards on the weekends but this is the only one in my area with the time posted – so that was a complete no brainer. 10:00 a.m. and I am there.

New Heights is a newer church that will most likely grow and morph into one of the mega churches with stadium seating and a coffee shop. The band rocked it and Candace now knows her favorite mega church song. I wished I could remember the words so I texted the Pastor to get the name of the song and he texted me right back – “Our God” by Chris Tomlin – Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_t_87NyHx0 How I love technology 🙂

This church is in a modern office complex of sorts – its neighbors are a Starbucks and an Indian Grocery. The interior is super cool, with painted concrete flooring and a little IKEA flavor. There are spaces dedicated to children – super cute. The people were so friendly all throughout our day.

For me, I am almost half way through my 52 week journey and I was kind of feeling run down by scheduling and plotting and strategizing and I kind of had that, I want it to be over feeling. I actually had the thought that I might make a list of all the stuff I had to do while sitting in church. Unfortunately for me, Bill Gates would be proud. As soon as I got there the feeling was washed away.

The Pastor, Bill Kirkpatrick, spoke about the church being a light in the midst of darkness and that Jesus wants an up close and personal relationship with us. He spoke about all the influences in our lives; whether it be our friends, family, the media, who attempt to shape our thoughts and our relationship with God. Just because we believe someone else’s message doesn’t make it true in the eyes of the Lord. We must get right thinking where God is concerned and the Bible is the Truth. It is an owner’s manual for life.

He gave some examples. Ted Turner, founder of CNN, who has said that “Christianity is a religion for losers.” From Bill Gates: “Just in terms of allocation of time resources, religion is not very efficient. There’s a lot more I could be doing on a Sunday morning.” And this from men who have shaped much of our daily lives. Instead, I was captivated by the final words of Steve Jobs as he may have looked into heaven and given us a small clue when he said, “oh wow. oh wow. oh wow.”

I loved that the Pastor said when God wants to accomplish his mission, he uses people. Noah, Moses, the Disciples. Just for the record I did ask God right then and there to help me get electricity in my Little Amish House on the Prairie! It would make a great church retreat location – but it does need electricity! You can probably find a few people in your own life who may have been activated by God on your behalf. Sometimes you are on the receiving end and other times you are His instrument. God is a generous giver and just like a parent he does want to share with us.

Thank you for giving me the day off from crazy, stupid lists of too much stuff to do. To visit this growing church click here: http://www.newheightsaz.com/home

Leave a Reply

