Week 23 – First Church of Christ, Scientist – Christian Science

This particular blog has taken me a couple of days to formulate my thoughts into something eloquent and here it is Monday night and I am still at a loss for words. This church, somewhat like my experience at the Unitarian church, has left me in a state of confusion. I was reminded again that so much of life is about the story, the back story and the expression of the story. In this case, I joined the story midstream and really had no clue what was occurring. I am reasonably intelligent and honestly had no reference point for anything that was discussed. Unlike the Unitarian Church though, it was clear that Christian Scientists do believe in a “traditional” God and they did read from the Bible. However, with each Bible passage they would read from a corresponding Christian Science text to match it.

When attending services in Vietnamese, Hindu, Japanese or Serbian it is clear that I will not understand what is occurring around me and that is to be expected. But when the service is conducted in your native tongue it just stands to reason that you might grasp something. This was just not the case.

The founder of the Christian Science Church was a woman named Mary Baker Eddy and the Mother Church is in Boston. She believed strongly that God is Love and he has the power to heal. Christian Scientists do not participate in medical treatments. And I have since learned that Christian Scientists and Scientology are two separate religions. So no Tom Cruise and Will Smith to be found in Tempe this past Sunday. There were no children in the service so I was relieved to have left Candace at home.

The Scientific Statement of Being: There is no life, intelligence, nor substance in matter. All is infinite Mind and its infinite manifestation, for God is All-in-all. Spirit is immortal Truth; matter is mortal error. Spirit is the real and eternal; matter is the unreal and temporal. Spirit is God, and man is His image and likeness. Therefore man is not material; he is spiritual.

See – I’m just not that smart or evolved. Interesting experience. If you ever figure it out, let me know.

Here is the link for the Tempe Church: http://www.csarizona.com/tempe.1st.html

Here is the Wikipedia link to Mary Baker Eddie: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Baker_Eddy

Leave a Reply

