Week 50 – St. Francis Xavier – Catholic

For week 50 and almost at the finish line I was cutting it so close. It was 2:30 on Sunday afternoon and I still hadn’t committed to a church! That’s one great thing about the Catholic church – so many chances to get to Mass. Saturday afternoon before any possible sinning on Saturday night, three times Sunday morning after any sinning has occurred, a Sunday lunch Mass and finally, if you were really naughty and couldn’t drag yourself from bed, a Sunday evening Mass.

I picked St. Francis Xavier on Central and Highland in Phoenix next to the Brophy/Xavier campuses. I had not been to this church since I was a freshman in high school. It was so much bigger than I remember. St. Francis Xavier is in a great location and is a very beautiful church – which is something I just love. I see the expression of man’s love for God in architecture and art. I love the rich detail, columns, colors, flowers, alters, crosses and art. Beautiful.

I have mental checklist of churches I have categorized and for me, if you could cross devout Catholic architecture with a Rock ‘N Roll Christian church you would have something that would seriously hold my interest. I always feel like the Rock ‘N Roll churches are more of an entertainment venue with stage. I like to see Jesus and the Virgin Mary in church. It’s just me:).

The priest was an energetic, happy-go-lucky type of guy. Maybe it’s just a Jesuit Thing? He spoke about how we are not very good listeners and challenged us to live in this world as if we were already living in heaven. That is an interesting thought. Who will you be once you reach heaven? He cautioned us against being caught up in the world and asked us to make sacrifices to avoid the sin that is our free will. God could bring us into perfect order but that would limit our freedom. The spirit of God is the breath of life.

He closed with mention that we could all join him in the parking lot to see the eclipse and he was thrilled that God had created such a perfect universe that gave us these unique gifts every so often.

A beautiful church and a good evening.

http://www.sfxphx.org/

Leave a Reply

