Week 28 – Holy Yoga Christmas Service – Christ Centered Yoga

Colorful mats arranged in rows. Straight backs, fit bodies, open hearts. This was literally a stretch for me and about 15 minutes in I just knew I was going to need a chiropractor. I had a moment of thought that went something like this, “God, seriously, what am I doing here?” At the end of the hour I felt a little silly and exhausted and relaxed. At one point I gave up, tried to re-motivate myself and got back into the rhythm of the evening. I suppose life and faith can be a little like that too. It was a good experience and Candace and I had a blast sharing our mat. She can do some awesome splits 🙂

The Holy Yoga Christmas Service is an annual event that was packed. It is so popular there was a 6:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. service. The lights were dim, the candles were lit. The choir sang holiday music. My favorite was when an American Sign Language dancer took center stage and “sang” the songs with her whole body. One song asked – “Mary when you kissed your baby did you know you were kissing the face of God?” It was such a beautiful thought.

During the various yoga poses we were asked to stretch our hearts to God, lift our hands to God, use the glorious body God created for you, etc. I was so focused on getting my body to do what it was supposed to do that I had trouble hearing the God message but it was definitely there. While we relaxed in the fetal position the yoga leader read us scripture about Jesus.

It was so interesting even though I felt like the most awkward person in the whole room. I suppose God doesn’t care how uncoordinated we might be. My big girls would love it too! I think I might be open to trying Holy Yoga again – especially if the room is dark and I get a mat in the back!

Link to the article about Holy Yoga that I read in our local newspaper: http://www.ahwatukee.com/tukee_talk/article_abbdac74-17b7-11e1-87b3-001cc4c002e0.html

Leave a Reply

